Showing 349 results

Archival description
English County of Hastings records
Print preview Hierarchy View:

137 results with digital objects Show results with digital objects

Assessment rolls

These volumes are records of property values and the taxes levied on the owners of properties in Hastings County. They generally are arranged by township or municipality and record the name, age, religion and occupation of the owner, the lot and concession number of the property, its value and the amount charged as tax.

The townships and municipalities covered in these rolls are:

  • Bangor, Wicklow and McClure
  • Carlow
  • Deseronto [called Mill Point until 1881]
  • Dungannon
  • Elzevier and Grimsthorpe
  • Faraday
  • Hungerford
  • Huntingdon
  • Limerick
  • Madoc
  • Marmora and Lake
  • Marmora village
  • Monteagle and Herschel
  • Rawdon
  • Sidney
  • Stirling
  • Thurlow
  • Trenton [included up to 1883]
  • Tudor and Cashel
  • Tweed
  • Tyendinaga
  • Wollaston

Note that from 1901 the assessment rolls are split across two volumes, with municipalities in the first half of the alphabet in volume 1 and later ones in volume 2. The alphabetical division between the two volumes is not the same in every year, so check the individual description to be sure of ordering the correct volume.

Results 1 to 20 of 349